Warning! Editing this pageset section will affect all pages on your website.

College Prep / Voluntary Tests

Advanced Placement (AP) Examinations

The Advanced Placement program consists of college-level courses in over 21 subjects that high school students may substitute for the regular curriculum. Students who are successful on the subsequent AP exams may meet certain college entrance requirements and/or earn college credit if they score well on these exams. To learn more, visit the College Board AP website.

Early Assessment Program (EAP)

The EAP is a voluntary eleventh-grade assessment that determines whether a student is prepared for California State University course work. This early assessment identifies whether a student is prepared for college at a point when students have the time to gain the needed preparation during the high school senior year.

International Baccalaureate (IB) Examinations

The International Baccalaureate program is a rigorous, two-year liberal arts course of study for students in grades 11 and 12. IB final examinations are based on two years' coursework in each course for each student. Students who score well on the IB exams may meet certain college entrance requirements and/or earn college credit. To learn more, visit the International Baccalaureate Organization website.

Scholastic Assessment Test - Subject Tests (SAT II)

One-hour tests measure student knowledge in a particular academic subject area. Many colleges require or recommend one or more of the Subject Tests for admission or placement. To learn more, view the College Board SAT II webpage.

Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT)

The Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a standardized test that provides firsthand practice for the SAT I: Reasoning Test and SAT II: Writing Test. It also gives students a chance to qualify for National Merit Scholarship Corporation's (NMSC) scholarship programs. To learn more, visit the College Board's PSAT page.

Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT I)

The SAT measures verbal and mathematical reasoning skills students have developed over time and skills they need to be successful academically. The SAT is scored on a scale of 200-800 and is typically taken by high school juniors and seniors. The test is administered several times a year. Visit the College Board SAT I page.

American College Test (ACT)

The ACT Assessment is designed to assess high school students' general educational development and their ability to complete college-level work. The tests cover four skill areas: English, mathematics, reading, and science. To learn more, visit the ACT website.